Get to know our history
About the award show

The Greek Bookmaker Awards by Betarades will shine a light on the best bookmakers in the Greek marketplace. These awards will create a trust mark for players letting them know they are betting with the best in the business.

The awards process will be transparent and open to all licenced operators in the market. Results will be data driven and audited continuing the spirit of trust and transparency that Betarades and the Better Collective brands are built on. An advisory board of those with insight and experience in the industry will also be in place to oversee the process.

These awards will take place at the stunning Lighthouse at the top of the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Center on the 23rd of January 2020. This will be an evening where we will showcase the very best of Greece’s bookmakers across a number of different categories in a glamorous and celebratory black tie event.

We welcome you to join us in making this truly a night to remember.

All the practical details
Event info

Our team will be sending out invites in the coming weeks, please watch for yours landing in your inbox.

There is no cost to attend, you are invited as our guest. If you have not received an invite and would like to attend then please email Shona to see if you are eligible to attend.

Date & timings

23rd January 2020

19.00 Welcome drinks reception 20.00 Four course dinner 21.30 Awards ceremony 22.30 After Party 00.30 Carriages

Dress code

Black tie


The awards will take place at the iconic Lighthouse of the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Center. This incredible building is home to both the national library and the national opera. Encased in glass, it offers uncompromising panoramic views of Athens, Piraeus and the Saronic Gulf, as well as the Acropolis. If you are a licensed bookmaker in the Greek market, we look forward to welcoming you as our guest for a night to remember. What better way to start the new year.

Where to stay

Hopefully your flights are already booked and you are excited about joining us in Athens. We will be staying at The President Hotel and we would love it if you stayed too. To help make the decision easier, we have negotiated a lower rate for you. Just click on the link above to book, enter your dates and in the field “booking code”, enter GBA 2020.

Alexis Spyropoulos
Konstantinos Katsouranis
Let the show begin
Your hosts

Your host for the evening is Alexis Spyropoulos one of the leading Greek sportscasters.  Alex has covered many of the world’s leading football tournaments for Greek television including the World Cup, European Championships, Champions League and Europa League finals. His career spans 25 years and in this time he has worked for some of the biggest broadcasters and media companies in Greece including MEGA Channel, Cosmote TV and many more. He is currently working for OPEN TV.

Alex will be joined on the night by Konstantinos ‘Kostas’ Katsouranis, one of the most capped players in Greek football.  Kostas proved to be a key member of the Euro 2004 winning squad and has represented Greece at Euro 2008 & 2012, as well as the 2010 & 2014 World Cup.  During his career he has played at Benfica, Panathinaikos and AEK Athens, winning the Super League Greek Footballer of the Year Award twice and the Cosme Damiao Award.

See all the nominees
Choose category
How we did it

Players and sports bettors are at the heart of everything we do, and we want to provide them with the best information on the industry to help them make the best choices based on their needs. Based on this ethos, all licenced bookmakers will be automatically included in our awards process. Each award category has been validated as being important to players via a local focus group (held September 2019).

The only award where bookmakers are required to nominate themselves is the Innovation Award.

Innovation in the industry is one of the most exciting parts of what we do. It keeps our products fresh and interesting. Because players are at the heart of what we do, we want you to showcase a new innovation that does just that; improving the player experience. This could be a new product or significant improvement to your customer service. To qualify, it must have been implemented in 2019 and be unique to your brand. We'll be in touch soon to let you know how to apply.

Our advisory panel will be looking at the following, so please consider this when you submit your application:

  • What makes this innovation unique?
  • What are the key benefits to the end user?
  • Evidence that users have adopted it

The Data

We started our data collection in September 2019, and will continue to do so at fixed points each month or, as per our methodology, as deemed appropriate to measure effectively. This means that our awards do not represent a single snapshot in time, but rather a more comprehensive view of each operators offering. For the 2021 awards we will be using a full year’s data to make our assessments even more comprehensive.


We are delighted to confirm that KPMG Isle of Man will be our official voting adjudicator. This is part of our commitment to transparency on the Greek Bookmaker Awards.

Advisory Board

Our Advisory board is made up of experts from the iGaming industry, many of whom have specialist knowledge of the Greek market. They will oversee the process to ensure its transparency and will judge the innovation award. If you are interested in becoming an advisory board member for this market, or any of the others we operate in, please drop us an email and let us know what you could bring to the board.

Do you have any questions
Contact us

If you would like any further information on The Greek Bookmakers Awards by Betarades please contact

Shona ODonnell
awards gold icon
Head of Strategic Events
Shona ODonnell
Kyriakos Fourniadis
awards gold icon
Director of Strategy Greece & Romania
Kyriakos Fourniadis
Shona ODonnell
awards gold icon
Director BC Greece
Theodoris Riganis